Call for papers ESSoS



International Symposium on Engineering Secure Software and Systems (ESSoS)

February 26 - 28, 2014

Munich, Germany

In cooperation with: ACM SIGSAC and SIGSOFT and IEEE CS (TCSP).

Download this call as a PDF-file

Context and motivation

Trustworthy, secure software is a core ingredient of the modern world. So is the Internet. Hostile, networked environments, like the Internet, can allow vulnerabilities in software to be exploited from anywhere. To address this, high-quality security building blocks (e.g., cryptographic components) are necessary, but insufficient. Indeed, the construction of secure software is challenging because of the complexity of modern applications, the growing sophistication of security requirements, the multitude of available software technologies and the progress of attack vectors. Clearly, a strong need exists for engineering techniques that scale well and that demonstrably improve the software's security properties.

Goal and setup

The goal of this symposium, which will be the sixth in the series, is to bring together researchers and practitioners to advance the states of the art and practice in secure software engineering. Being one of the few conference-level events dedicated to this topic, it explicitly aims to bridge the software engineering and security engineering communities, and promote cross-fertilization. The symposium will feature two days of technical program with keynote presentations by Ross Anderson, Adrian Perrig and Stephan Micklitz. In addition to academic papers, the symposium encourages submission of high-quality, informative industrial experience papers about successes and failures in security software engineering and the lessons learned. Furthermore, the symposium also accepts short idea papers that crisply describe a promising direction, approach, or insight.


The Symposium seeks submissions on subjects related to its goals. This includes a diversity of topics including (but not limited to):

- scalable techniques for threat modeling and analysis of vulnerabilities
- specification and management of security requirements and policies
- security architecture and design for software and systems
- model checking for security
- specification formalisms for security artifacts
- verification techniques for security properties
- systematic support for security best practices
- security testing
- security assurance cases
- programming paradigms, models and DSL's for security
- program rewriting techniques
- processes for the development of secure software and systems
- security-oriented software reconfiguration and evolution
- security measurement
- automated development
- trade-off between security and other non-functional requirements (in particular economic considerations)
- support for assurance, certification and accreditation
- empirical secure software engineering
- security by design

Important dates

Abstract submission: September 6, 2013
Authors are encouraged to submit an abstract as soon as possible, but a paper can be submitted until the paper submission deadline even if no abstract was submitted first.
Paper submission: September 13, 2013
Author notification: November 18, 2013
Camera-ready: December 8, 2013

Submission and format

The proceedings of the symposium are published by Springer-Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series ( Submissions should follow the formatting instructions of Springer LNCS. Submitted papers must present original, non-published work of high quality.

For selected papers, there will be an invitation to submit extended versions to a special issue in the International Journal of Information Security.

Two types of papers will be accepted:

Full papers (max 14 pages without bibliography/appendices) - May describe original technical research with a solid foundation, such as formal analysis or experimental results, with acceptance determined mostly based on novelty and validation. Or, may describe case studies applying existing techniques or analysis methods in industrial settings, with acceptance determined mostly by the general applicability of techniques and the completeness of the technical presentation details.

Idea papers (max 8 pages with bibliography) - May crisply describe a novel idea that is both feasible and interesting, where the idea may range from a variant of an existing technique all the way to a vision for the future of security technology. Idea papers allow authors to introduce ideas to the field and get feedback, while allowing for later publication of complete, fully-developed results. Submissions will be judged primarily on novelty, excitement, and exposition, but feasibility is required, and acceptance will be unlikely without some basic, principled validation (e.g., extrapolation from limited experiments or simple formal analysis). In the proceedings, idea papers will clearly identified by means of the "Idea" tag in the title.

Two affiliated workshops also solicit contributions. Further guidelines will appear on the website of the symposium.

Steering committee

Jorge Cuellar (Siemens AG)
Wouter Joosen (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) - chair
Fabio Massacci (Università di Trento)
Gary McGraw (Cigital)
Bashar Nuseibeh (The Open University)
Daniel Wallach (Rice University University)

Organizing committee

General chair: Alexander Pretschner (Technische Universität München, DE)
Program co-chairs: Jan Jürjens (TU Dortmund and Fraunhofer ISST, DE), Frank Piessens (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, BE)
Smart Grid workshop chair: Jorge Cuellar (Siemens AG)
Publication chair: Nataliia Bielova (INRIA Rennes, FR)
Publicity chair: Pieter Philippaerts (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, BE)
Local arrangements chair: Regina Jourdan (Technische Universität München, DE)
Web chair: Ghita Saevels (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, BE)

Program committee

Ruth Breu, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Lorenzo Cavallaro, Royal Holloway University of London, UK
Anupam Datta, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Werner Dietl, University of Waterloo, Canada
François Dupressoir, IMDEA, Spain
Eduardo Fernandez, Florida Atlantic University, US
Eduardo Fernandez-Medina Paton, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Cormac Flanagan, U. C. Santa Cruz, US
Dieter Gollmann, TU Hamburg-Harburg, Germany
Arjun Guha, Cornell University, US
Christian Hammer, Saarland University, Germany        
Hannes Hartenstein, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany
Maritta Heisel, U. Duisburg Essen, Germany
Peter Herrmann, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway
Valerie Issarny, INRIA, France
Limin Jia, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Martin Johns, SAP Research, Germany
Jay Ligatti, University of South Florida, US
Heiko Mantel, TU Darmstadt, Germany
Haris Mouratidis, University of East London, UK
Martín Ochoa, Siemens AG, Germany
Jae Park, University of Texas at San Antonio, US
Erik Poll, RU Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Wolfgang Reif, University of Augsburg, Germany
Riccardo Scandariato, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Ketil Stølen, SINTEF, Norway
Steve Zdancewic, University of Pennsylvania, US      
Mohammad Zulkernine, Queens University, Canada